Day 11 ugh

3 miles 12:43 moving pace

Today I went out too hard, nearly matching my 5k test speed on the first mile, which had been on a totally flat course. My right shin started tightening up, then my calf, then my back. I then realized I had my right shoe tied too tight. When I stopped, undid the “marathon lacing” someone had suggested and retied it normally, my shin and calf relaxed. Unfortunately it was too late for my back. I finished with a similar time to Monday’s run but with quite a bit of frustration. But that’s how it goes. Glad we finished. Glad we went out hard to test our limits. Will always wonder how I would have done with the regular lacing pattern from the start. 

But when I reflect on events in South Carolina I realize this is no big deal. I’m grateful to have lived to run the race of life another day. May I run well to the rhythm of grace in all I do. Prayers go out to all who are hurting and grieving in our broken world. May hope rise again and soon!

Posted on June 18, 2015, in Spiritual Formation. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

