Updates on Life and Day 51

Last week I had a refreshing time at PALCON, a conference for Nazarene pastors and leaders on the campus of Olivet Nazarene University, where I teach. The conference had everything from high level theological training from Dr. T.A. Nobel to practical ministry tips and fellowship. The best part was connecting with former mentors, ministry friends and former students now in ministry. The days were full and a little long, but it was worth the investment. Sparks flew in a few panel discussions (probably that’s a good thing) and I felt challenged by the sermons from General Superintendent Jerry Porter, NTS President Carla Sunberg, and a favorite preacher, Scott Daniels, the new leader at Nampa College church at NNU, where I also teach online. When I stepped into the pulpit at NewHope on Sunday I felt a bit more of a breeze behind me after these days of renewal.
There’s also good news on the marathon training front…we continued to run Sunday and Monday, getting back on the correct schedule. Today we walked, the second to last time that will be part of our training. We picked up the pace and had our fastest walking mile yet at the end. Next week the training gets more challenging and the group from our church will need each other to stay on track!
Last night I took in a church kid’s  youth baseball game with friends from our missional community. It was nice to meet other parents and watch a team cope with unexpected challenges. (Jason drew a walk and scored!)
I’ve also begun plans for courses I will be teaching this fall and next Spring. I’m taking a refresher course on creating online courses in preparation for teaching Preaching and Worship online this Fall for NNU. I’m prepping for teaching the Faith & Film course and a New Testament course, both of which I’ve taught before. The Pew Study on the Changing Religious Landscape in America will be the focus of a Spring Honors course I’m designing with a friend and wise colleague, Paul Koch.
It was also a big week for my family as my youngest daughter became engaged to her long-time boyfriend and classmate at Olivet! Congratulations to Jon and Rachel! In a delightful old-school move, Jon sought the approval of my wife and I before he asked Rachel. He shared with me about his recent spiritual growth and excitement about how he and Rachel have brought out the best in each other. After praying about it for some time he felt the time was right to ask her, even though it will be a couple of years before they actually get married. We agreed they should wait to get married but were excited about this big step in their lives. God is good and our lives are very full just now!

Posted on June 2, 2015, in Activism, CotN, Family, Sports, The Academy and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

