Pass it on…

For I received from the Lord what I also passed on to you: The Lord Jesus, on the night he was betrayed, took bread… (I Corinthians 11:23 NIV)
This Sunday is worldwide communion Sunday! We’ll be gathering to celebrate and give thanks around God’s table. What strikes me this morning is how fragile the Good News really can be. As powerful and durable as this spiritual meal has been, it all comes down to the line…”what I received…I also passed on to you. ” What I know about Jesus, I know because my mother took me to church and told me. What if she had almost gone but didn’t? That’s what happened for years until her neighbor, Ruth Crow, knocked on the door of my parents’ apartment and invited mom to church through the screen door.
Who first brought you to church? Who passed on to you what they received? Who will know about Jesus because you told them? I’m so glad Paul and Ruth and then Lavada passed it on!
Invite someone to worship with you this week. If you don’t attend a church, consider yourself invited to NewHope 10:30am Sunday. After a fun and meaningful service we’ll feast together at our Fall Family Fun Fest! Pass it on!…

Posted on September 30, 2010, in Spiritual Formation and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

